top of page

10 Things To Do Before Summer Ends


The most depressing time of year is upon us! The days left of summer 2015 are numbered and I'm going to help you make the most of them!

So it's almost the middle of August, which we all know is when all the back to school supplies are going out in the stores, the coupons are in the mail, and the commercials are all over TV. As fun as it is to buy fresh supplies for school, we all know that none of us are ready for summer to be over. August is still a summer month and if you're like me and you don't want to be thinking about school during your final days of freedom than here are 10 super fun things to do before summer's over:

1. Watch the Sunrise. It happens every morning, it's beautiful, and it's free. If you have never seen a sunrise before I promise you it is 100% worth getting up at 5 in the morning. Do it by yourself, do it with friends or siblings, go out for breakfast afterwards, or just go back to bed afterwards.

2. Go to a State Park. State parks aren't like playground parks, although sometimes they include them. State parks are large masses of land set aside for people just to be able to go to them and enjoy nature. There are a bunch of them around where I live and if you look up state parks in your state there should be a website that can locate one close to you. Plus, I'm pretty sure they're all free so bring all your friends and bring lunches and turn off your phones (unless you're taking pics of the scenery of course).

3. Go Roller Skating. I just had to throw this one in because I went rollerskating with my friends for my birthday last week and it was super fun. You really don't have to be a pro or super coordinated, just have your friends roll you around and take really cute pictures.

4. Go to a Free Concert. They exist. I promise you, they exist. Now I'm not promising you that Taylor Swift or One Direction is going to be giving a free concert in your area, but there are other kinds of cool concerts to go to. I went to see the Philadelphia Orchestra for free in July and they were AMAZING. They're all sorts of free jazz, rock and other concerts so look it up and see what you find.

5. Go to a Museum. Not near as boring as you might think. There are also a lot more than you think so try to find some in your area because I went to an art museum this summer and it was actually really cool.

6. Visit an Antique/Thrift Shop. Defintely one of my favorites just because you don't actually have to buy anything, you can just walk around and look at really cool stuff. Antique shops are all over the place. Also you never know, you might find some cool jewlery or room decor at really cheap prices.

7. Go Biking. Anywhere, anytime, with anyone you like.

8. Go to the Pool. If you haven't done this yet this summer, which I just feel like a lot of people haven't but who knows, then definitely do it. Even if you just meet up at your friend's pool, make a day out of it!

9. Go to a Farmer's Market. This is such a cute thing to do with your bestfriend or your mom or whoever. You might have to get up a little early but it'll be worth it when you taste the farm fresh fruits and vegetables. Also they have lots of pretty flowers at farmer's markets sometimes so that's usually why I go!

10. Throw an End of Summer Party! Pizza party, pajama party, pool party, bonfire, harry potter movie marathon party, whichever gets all your friends together! Even thought it's sad that the summer's ending,this is a nice time to be with friends and talk about what you all did over the summer and maybe even get kind of excited for the new school year by finding out how many of your friends you have classes with!

I'm pretty proud to say that every picture in this post (except for the picture of the museum) was taken by me! It was probably kind of obvious that they weren't professionally taken pictures, but I have been trying to improve my photography skills so I hope to be using more of my own photos in future posts! I really enjoyed writing this post and I hope you all have a lovely rest of your summer!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page