top of page

Our Trip to Philadelphia's Magic Gardens!


Big News! Julia and I (and two of our other friends) took a road trip to Philadelphia's Magic Gardens a few days ago!

If you've never heard of Philadelphia's Magic Gardens here's a link to their website so you can check it out: http://www.phillymagicgardens.org/ It's referred to as a museum or a gallery but it's nothing like any ordinary art museum. Everything (walls, floors, stairs, etc.) is made out of mosaics or recycled trash. However the most amazing part is that the entire place was created by one man, Isaiah Zagar, who is now 76 years old and still continues making art today. I know that he is well because while my friends and I were admiring the art work, an older man came down the stairs and was talking to this lady who worked at the gardens. He was standing about 5 feet from us when he started pointing at the art work and talking about what he wanted to do with it. It was then that we realized that we were looking at Mr. Zagar and my one friend immediately approached him and told him how much we loved the art. My friend just so happened to be holding my fujifilm polaroid camera when she was talking to him and Mr. Zagar asked her about it and asked if we would like a picture. Of course we agreed, took the picture, and walked away shaking with excitement. It was an amazing experience and a beautiful place. Here are some pictures we took during the course of the day:

Of course I had to capture the perfect rainbow that was being reflected on the floor by putting my camera in front of it.

After we left the gardens, we got stopped for a bite to eat and then found this really cool antique shop, where, I might add, Julia went shopping crazy.

We finally ended the day with a quick trip to insomnia Cookies!

We had an amazing time and I hope we get to visit again soon! If you've never been to Philadelphia's Magic Gardens than I defintely recommend clicking the link at the top and checking it out and maybe even visiting if you're ever in the area. If you do visit, make sure to tag us in your instagram photos (@thatplusthis) so we can check them out! Hope you all enjoyed this post and all the pictures! Until next time!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page